Skip to content
Guide ยท 20-hour plan

A Free 20-Hour Cybersecurity Training Plan

Last reviewed 4 November 2026. Provider facts were read from each provider's own page that day.

Short answer

You can build a free 20-hour cybersecurity starter block from verified free sources: an IBM SkillsBuild or Cisco intro course, Professor Messer's free Security+ videos, PortSwigger's free Web Security Academy and TryHackMe free rooms, then practise in browser labs. The hour split below is our suggestion; providers do not publish 20-hour programmes.

Sources used in the plan

Course or siteWhat the provider page says is freeNot free or not statedCertificate or badge
Cybersecurity Fundamentals (badge)
IBM SkillsBuild
The badge page lists the cost as free. You must be a registered IBM SkillsBuild user.Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.Digital badge on Credly for completing the IBM course and scoring 80% or higher on the end-of-course assessment.
Introduction to Cybersecurity
Cisco Networking Academy
The page is titled "Introduction to Cybersecurity by Cisco: Free Online Course".Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.The page text we could read did not state a badge or its conditions; check the provider's page.
CompTIA SY0-701 Security+ Training Course
Professor Messer
The page says "All of my training videos are completely free".Course notes (printed or PDF) are offered separately; no price shown.No certificate of completion mentioned. The CompTIA exam itself is separate.
Web Security Academy
PortSwigger
The page says the Academy "is 100% free": text, many videos and interactive labs, with progress tracking after you create an account.Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.The page links to a certification section but did not explain its cost or requirements; check the provider's page.
TryHackMe
TryHackMe
Free plan: "Free rooms only", limited access to learning paths and a 1-hour daily AttackBox limit.Premium adds full beginner learning paths and a certificate for each completed path (shown as EUR 16.99, or EUR 10.50 a month billed annually).Path certificates are listed under the paid Premium plan.
Cybrary free access
Cybrary
Free Access: limited access to Career Paths, Skill Paths and Cert Prep Paths, community forums, limited to 10 activities per day.Insider Pro gives full access to all paths, labs and practice exams.Not stated for the free plan.

Accessed 4 November 2026. Providers change terms; confirm on the provider's page before you enrol.

The 20-hour plan, block by block

  1. Block 1 (4 h): Foundations. Take the IBM SkillsBuild Cybersecurity Fundamentals course, or the Cisco Networking Academy Introduction to Cybersecurity.
  2. Block 2 (6 h): Concepts. Watch the Professor Messer SY0-701 videos for the domains that match your role; take notes in your own words.
  3. Block 3 (4 h): Hands-on web. Work the first PortSwigger Web Security Academy topics and log what each lab taught you.
  4. Block 4 (3 h): Guided rooms. Free TryHackMe rooms (the free plan has a 1-hour daily AttackBox limit, so spread them over days).
  5. Block 5 (3 h): Applied practice. Use the PlayCISO labs below, then write a one-page summary of what you can now do.

The hours are our suggested split of a 20-hour block, not provider figures.

Practise on PlayCISO

The full list of hand-picked free courses by role is the free cybersecurity courses library, which is the main PlayCISO page for this topic. For browser-based practice see hands-on cybersecurity training and labs.

Frequently asked questions

Can I learn cybersecurity in 20 hours?

You can cover the basics and find out if you like it; you cannot become job-ready in 20 hours. Treat this as a starter block, then follow the roadmap and a role-specific course.

What is a free 20 hour cyber security training plan?

It is the block-by-block plan above: 4 hours of foundations, 6 of concepts, 4 of hands-on web security, 3 of guided rooms and 3 of applied practice, using sources whose pages we read.

Is there an official free 20-hour cybersecurity course?

We did not find a provider page offering a single free 20-hour programme, so we have not named one. Hour splits here are ours.

What should I do after the 20 hours?

Pick a role in the free course library, then add a recognised exam if your target jobs name one.

Sources (accessed 4 November 2026)

๐Ÿ–ค Black Friday: new customers get 3 months of Pro for $5, then $5/month. Ends 30 Nov. Claim 3 months for $5 โ†’