Skip to content
Guide ยท Free certifications

Free Cybersecurity Certifications: What Is Really Free (2026)

Last reviewed 4 November 2026. Provider facts were read from each provider's own page that day.

Short answer

Few cybersecurity certifications are fully free. On the provider pages we read, the IBM SkillsBuild Cybersecurity Fundamentals badge is free (80% on the assessment), Fortinet offers free self-paced NSE training, and Cisco Networking Academy advertises free cybersecurity courses. ISC2 closed new free Certified in Cybersecurity enrollments on 20 May 2026, and TryHackMe, Hack The Box and the Google certificate charge for their credentials.

Free cybersecurity certifications and badges, checked at the provider

Course or siteWhat the provider page says is freeNot free or not statedCertificate or badge
Cybersecurity Fundamentals (badge)
IBM SkillsBuild
The badge page lists the cost as free. You must be a registered IBM SkillsBuild user.Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.Digital badge on Credly for completing the IBM course and scoring 80% or higher on the end-of-course assessment.
Introduction to Cybersecurity
Cisco Networking Academy
The page is titled "Introduction to Cybersecurity by Cisco: Free Online Course".Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.The page text we could read did not state a badge or its conditions; check the provider's page.
Cyber Career Pathway
Cisco Networking Academy
The page is titled "Free Cybersecurity Training by Cisco".Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.The page text we could read did not state the credential or the hours; check the provider's page.
NSE training (NSE 1 is "Cybersecurity and Cloud Fundamentals")
Fortinet Training Institute
The page describes "free self-paced training from the Fortinet Training Institute" and lists NSE 1 in the Foundations track.On-demand labs are "Available for purchase"; instructor-led classes at Authorized Training Centers are also offered (no prices listed).The page did not say which NSE levels are free or what NSE 1 awards; check the provider's page.
SC-900T00: Introduction to Microsoft Security, Compliance, and Identity
Microsoft Learn
Beginner course, listed as 1 day, available as self-paced study or instructor-led training. The course page states no price.Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.Related certification named on the page: Microsoft Certified: Security, Compliance, and Identity Fundamentals. Exam cost is not on the course page.
Certified in Cybersecurity (CC), One Million Certified programme
ISC2
No longer open: ISC2 is "concluding new enrollments effective May 20, 2026". Existing unexpired CC exam codes must be used by 31 December 2026.Standard paid access: the CC exam fee is US$199, plus a US$50 yearly maintenance charge.Certified in Cybersecurity (CC) exam.
TryHackMe
TryHackMe
Free plan: "Free rooms only", limited access to learning paths and a 1-hour daily AttackBox limit.Premium adds full beginner learning paths and a certificate for each completed path (shown as EUR 16.99, or EUR 10.50 a month billed annually).Path certificates are listed under the paid Premium plan.
HTB Academy
Hack The Box
The page has a "Start for Free" button; it did not list which modules are free.Certifications are paid, shown from US$490 to US$1260 with the exam included.Paid HTB certifications only.
Google Cybersecurity Professional Certificate
Google on Coursera
A 7-day free trial is mentioned in the pricing FAQ.The page says Coursera charges US$49 per month in the U.S. and Canada after the trial, and that most learners finish for under US$300. Listed as about 6 months at 7 hours a week.Professional certificate on completion (paid).

Accessed 4 November 2026. Providers change terms; confirm on the provider's page before you enrol.

Practise on PlayCISO

The full list of hand-picked free courses by role is the free cybersecurity courses library, which is the main PlayCISO page for this topic. For browser-based practice see hands-on cybersecurity training and labs.

Frequently asked questions

Are there free cybersecurity certifications?

Some badges and course certificates are free, but recognised exams are usually paid. On its page, IBM SkillsBuild lists the Cybersecurity Fundamentals badge as free, and Fortinet describes free self-paced NSE training. Check each provider's page for current terms.

Is ISC2 Certified in Cybersecurity free?

Not for new candidates. ISC2 says it is concluding new enrollments effective 20 May 2026; unexpired exam codes must be used by 31 December 2026. The standard CC exam fee is US$199 plus a US$50 yearly maintenance charge.

Which free cybersecurity certification is best for beginners?

Of the entries we verified, IBM SkillsBuild Cybersecurity Fundamentals is the one whose page states both that it is free and what earns the badge (80% or higher on the assessment). Whether an employer values it is a separate question; pair it with hands-on work.

Do free certifications get you a job?

A free badge shows you finished learning, not that you can do the job. Pair it with labs and written notes on what you did, and see the entry-level jobs guide for what employers screen for.

Sources (accessed 4 November 2026)

๐Ÿ–ค Black Friday: new customers get 3 months of Pro for $5, then $5/month. Ends 30 Nov. Claim 3 months for $5 โ†’