Skip to content
Guide ยท Free courses with certificates

Free Cybersecurity Courses With Certificates

Last reviewed 4 November 2026. Provider facts were read from each provider's own page that day.

Short answer

Free cybersecurity courses with a certificate exist, but the certificate is often the paid part. IBM SkillsBuild lists its Cybersecurity Fundamentals badge as free, and Fortinet and Cisco Networking Academy offer free training. TryHackMe path certificates and the Google certificate on Coursera need a paid plan, and PortSwigger's academy is free with no certificate described.

Courses and whether the certificate is free

Course or siteWhat the provider page says is freeNot free or not statedCertificate or badge
Cybersecurity Fundamentals (badge)
IBM SkillsBuild
The badge page lists the cost as free. You must be a registered IBM SkillsBuild user.Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.Digital badge on Credly for completing the IBM course and scoring 80% or higher on the end-of-course assessment.
NSE training (NSE 1 is "Cybersecurity and Cloud Fundamentals")
Fortinet Training Institute
The page describes "free self-paced training from the Fortinet Training Institute" and lists NSE 1 in the Foundations track.On-demand labs are "Available for purchase"; instructor-led classes at Authorized Training Centers are also offered (no prices listed).The page did not say which NSE levels are free or what NSE 1 awards; check the provider's page.
Introduction to Cybersecurity
Cisco Networking Academy
The page is titled "Introduction to Cybersecurity by Cisco: Free Online Course".Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.The page text we could read did not state a badge or its conditions; check the provider's page.
Cyber Career Pathway
Cisco Networking Academy
The page is titled "Free Cybersecurity Training by Cisco".Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.The page text we could read did not state the credential or the hours; check the provider's page.
SC-900T00: Introduction to Microsoft Security, Compliance, and Identity
Microsoft Learn
Beginner course, listed as 1 day, available as self-paced study or instructor-led training. The course page states no price.Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.Related certification named on the page: Microsoft Certified: Security, Compliance, and Identity Fundamentals. Exam cost is not on the course page.
TryHackMe
TryHackMe
Free plan: "Free rooms only", limited access to learning paths and a 1-hour daily AttackBox limit.Premium adds full beginner learning paths and a certificate for each completed path (shown as EUR 16.99, or EUR 10.50 a month billed annually).Path certificates are listed under the paid Premium plan.
Google Cybersecurity Professional Certificate
Google on Coursera
A 7-day free trial is mentioned in the pricing FAQ.The page says Coursera charges US$49 per month in the U.S. and Canada after the trial, and that most learners finish for under US$300. Listed as about 6 months at 7 hours a week.Professional certificate on completion (paid).
Web Security Academy
PortSwigger
The page says the Academy "is 100% free": text, many videos and interactive labs, with progress tracking after you create an account.Nothing paid is listed on the page we read.The page links to a certification section but did not explain its cost or requirements; check the provider's page.
Cybrary free access
Cybrary
Free Access: limited access to Career Paths, Skill Paths and Cert Prep Paths, community forums, limited to 10 activities per day.Insider Pro gives full access to all paths, labs and practice exams.Not stated for the free plan.

Accessed 4 November 2026. Providers change terms; confirm on the provider's page before you enrol.

Practise on PlayCISO

The full list of hand-picked free courses by role is the free cybersecurity courses library, which is the main PlayCISO page for this topic. For browser-based practice see hands-on cybersecurity training and labs.

Frequently asked questions

Which free cyber security courses give a certificate?

From the pages we read: IBM SkillsBuild gives a free Credly badge for Cybersecurity Fundamentals after an 80% assessment pass. Others, such as TryHackMe path certificates and the Google certificate, are paid. Check the provider's page for the current rule.

Are free cybersecurity certificates recognised by employers?

Recognition varies and is the employer's call. Badges from named providers show completed learning; many job ads name an exam. See the certifications guide for which exams are named most.

Is the Google Cybersecurity Certificate free?

Not fully. The Coursera page mentions a 7-day free trial, then US$49 a month in the U.S. and Canada, and says most learners finish for under US$300 (about 6 months at 7 hours a week).

Can I get a certificate from PlayCISO?

PlayCISO projects are guided tracks that end in a PlayCISO certificate. It is our own certificate, not an industry exam.

Sources (accessed 4 November 2026)

๐Ÿ–ค Black Friday: new customers get 3 months of Pro for $5, then $5/month. Ends 30 Nov. Claim 3 months for $5 โ†’