AI Security, Audit and Governance Certifications
A directory of 30 certifications and certificate programmes for people who audit, secure or govern AI. Every entry was read from the provider’s own page and lists the sources; where a page does not state a cost or a prerequisite, we say so instead of guessing. Always confirm details with the provider before you pay.
AI audit and assurance
For internal auditors, IT auditors and assurance teams who test AI systems and AI governance.
An ISACA certification for auditing AI systems. Candidates must already hold CISA or a listed designation, then pass the AAIA exam and apply for certification.
Cost: Exam US$459 (member) or US$599 (non-member); US$50 certification application processing fee.
A short certificate course from The IIA, developed with AI CERTs, on using AI tools in the internal audit lifecycle. A certificate is issued after an exam.
Cost: $195.00 for non-members and for members; free for members in the US, Canada and the Caribbean.
CPA Australia's listing of ISACA's AAIA preparation course. Enrolment includes the review materials and an exam voucher, and the page says it is for CPA members only.
Cost: AUD 2,379.30 including GST for members; non-member pricing is not available (CPA members only).
AI governance and risk
Management systems, policy and regulation: ISO/IEC 42001, the EU AI Act and programme ownership.
A PECB training course on auditing an AI management system against ISO/IEC 42001. Passing the exam leads to the PECB Certified ISO/IEC 42001 credentials, which have experience requirements.
Cost: Price not stated; the page says certification and exam fees are included in the course price.
A PECB training course on setting up and running an AI management system to ISO/IEC 42001. It is an implementation credential, not an audit one, but it is the usual companion to the lead auditor course.
Cost: Price not stated; the page says certification and exam fees are included in the course price.
A four-day BSI course on planning, conducting, reporting and following up an AIMS audit. Participants receive a BSI Training Academy certificate on completion.
Cost: GBP 2585 + VAT for live online training; GBP 2585 + VAT for classroom-based training (price on the Ireland regional page).
An ISACA certification on AI risk, open to holders of a qualifying designation with IT risk or advisory experience. It sits alongside AAIA for people who assess rather than audit AI.
Cost: Exam US$459 (member) or US$599 (non-member); US$50 application processing fee.
An ISACA AI governance credential that is in a beta programme. The beta application period is closed and ISACA says a full launch is still to come.
Cost: not published, check the provider
IAPP's AI governance certification, built on an AIGP Body of Knowledge and exam blueprint. The certification page is light on detail; exam specifics are in IAPP's handbook and study guide.
Cost: not published, check the provider
A ten-module training and exam bundle covering AI fundamentals, governance and risk, and AI security and safety.
Cost: US$795 including training and the exam with two attempts.
An 11-module course on AI governance, ethics and compliance aligned to NIST AI RMF and ISO/IEC 42001.
Cost: From US$999 (On-Demand), US$1,399 (Live Online), US$1,799 (Live In-Person), US$3,499 (PRO AI Suite On-Demand).
A 10-module program on running AI adoption: readiness, use-case prioritisation, MLOps, governance, risk and ROI.
Cost: From US$999 (On-Demand), US$1,399 (Live Online), US$1,799 (Live In-Person), US$3,499 (PRO AI Suite On-Demand).
A certificate earned by completing six on-demand ISC2 courses on AI for security, AI regulation and secure-by-design AI. It is course-based, not a proctored exam.
Cost: not published, check the provider
AI security
Securing models, agents and AI pipelines: threats, controls and red teaming.
An ISACA certification for managing AI security programmes, open only to active CISM or CISSP holders. It is a security-management credential rather than an audit one.
Cost: Exam US$459 (member) or US$599 (non-member); US$50 application processing fee.
A CompTIA exam covering AI concepts, securing AI systems, AI-assisted security and AI governance, risk and compliance.
Cost: not published, check the provider
GIAC practitioner certification on securing generative AI platforms, agentic systems and MLOps.
Cost: not published, check the provider
GIAC practitioner certification on how attackers use AI: reconnaissance, vulnerability discovery, malware, phishing and bypassing guardrails.
Cost: not published, check the provider
A hands-on course on attacking LLM applications, AI infrastructure, agents and MCP servers. It is a course, not a certification; the page does not name a linked exam.
Cost: US$5,250 (OnDemand and most live events); other regions priced separately on the page (e.g. S$6,815, EUR 4,935). Excludes local taxes.
A course and hands-on exam on attacking and defending LLM systems, with governance mapped to NIST RMF, ISO/IEC 42001 and the EU AI Act.
Cost: Listed at US$1099; the page showed US$934.15 alongside a sale banner whose terms are not stated.
An offensive AI security course covering methodology for hacking LLM applications, models, pipelines and agentic systems.
Cost: From US$1,699 (On-Demand), US$2,499 (Live Online), US$3,299 (Live In-Person), US$3,499 (PRO AI Suite On-Demand).
A practical certification that is the final assessment of the AI Red Teamer job-role path.
Cost: Exam-only price not stated. The page suggests the Silver Annual subscription, which includes one exam voucher valid for 2 attempts.
AI technical and cloud
Building and running AI systems on the major platforms, with security as part of the job.
GIAC practitioner certification on using AI and automation for offensive emulation, defensive automation, SOAR and detection engineering.
Cost: not published, check the provider
Associate-level ML engineering on AWS. The page lists the current exam MLA-C01 and an updated MLA-C02 in beta.
Cost: MLA-C01 US$150. MLA-C02 US$75 (beta pricing).
A professional exam on building, evaluating and operating agentic AI systems, with safety and oversight as smaller topics.
Cost: US$200.
An associate exam on building RAG and LLM applications on Databricks, including evaluation and governance.
Cost: US$200 registration fee.
AI foundations
Starting points that explain AI for people new to it.
An entry-level certificate combining a self-paced course with labs and a short online exam on AI concepts and implementations.
Cost: Exam US$120 (member) or US$144 (non-member). Course, lab package and study guide prices not stated.
Microsoft's fundamentals credential for AI concepts and building AI solutions with Microsoft Foundry. The exam is AI-901.
Cost: not published, check the provider
A beginner credential on the business value of generative AI and adopting Microsoft AI products.
Cost: not published, check the provider
Foundational knowledge of AI, ML and generative AI concepts and AWS AI services.
Cost: US$100 (plus possible extra costs such as exchange rates).
Business-level knowledge of generative AI and Google Cloud's gen AI offerings.
Cost: US$99 plus tax where applicable.
Practise the skills these exams test
PlayCISO’s labs are practice, not a credential, and none of them is accredited by the bodies listed here. See the side-by-side comparison, the AI security hub and the cert roadmap tool.
Provider names are trademarks of their owners. PlayCISO is not affiliated with any provider listed. Details change: check the linked official page.